Categories

BitTorrent
Conferences
Direct Revenue
Julie Amero
Myspace
Podcasts
Postbag
The Big Ones
The Fourth Wall
Yapbrowser
Zango

Creative Commons License
All articles licensed
under a Creative
Commons License
.
 








Home | About me | Press | The Fourth Wall | Links

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

Yapbrowser answer my questions

I'm not going to offer opinion or interject or make witty comments - simply cut and paste their answers to my list of questions below.

1) Why is Yapbrowser avilable to download again, when the application doesn't actually work? (Any search made results in a page cannot be found message)?

YB: Because there on the main page was only a pattern i.e. only design of a site for a kind. And in general all sites are not completed. Partner program is in a test mode. Even the engine of site has not been installed on a site yet. On them there are no users and there is no traffic. This all is made for us, but not for for public. For public all would be tested and all links would appear in a working kind.

2) On your site apology, you say:

Some links of our browser direct on 404 page on which our hosting provider promoted an illegal content.

Presumably you are referring to the fact that any "mis-types" of your domains redirected to the porn (which I touch on later).

This is informative, but does not explain what was happening inside the Yapsearch application. None of the links in the Yapsearch page worked. Neither did typing anything into the search bar inside the Yapsearch page (for example, the search for the word "Spam" resulted in...a blank page).

No, what's interesting here is this extract from the logs, when Andrew tries to reach Microsoft:
+++GET 60+++
GET /search?q=http://www.microsoft.com HTTP/1.0
Connection: keep-alive
Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, */*
Accept-Language: en-us
Cookie: PHPSESSID=pkt2t4q58jl5q9rdvuto04sp24
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)
Host: yapsearch.com

+++RESP 60+++
HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Date: Sun, 16 Apr 2006 19:54:18 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.54 (Fedora)
Location: url removed
Content-Length: 307
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
+++CLOSE 60+++
What appears to be a 302 redirect - a common hijack employed by (sometimes rogue) search engines, where valid URLs are shunted out of the way by dubious pages. On many occasions, it's an error - however, in this case it looks like someone went a bit further and crafted some kind of built-in 302 redirect into the Yapbrowser application. And nobody noticed?

YB: I Repeat. Search on a site does not work. Also search in a browser does not work. Guys from Zango checked our program before to give us bundle. All changes on your computer could happen after visiting illegal page. There could be viruses. Check up a code of a browser and you will see that we do not do in a code any replacements hosts and so on.

3) All you had to do to see the porn was hit the green "go" button. Are you telling me that from the point where you tested the application, up until launch, and then while people were downloading Yapbrowser, nobody in your company noticed this? It wasn't difficult to spot, after all.

YB: This version is intended only for us. To show a Zango team that our program is. There are does not work lots of things. By pressing the button it is possible there was transition to nonexistent page.

4) As mentioned earlier, when attempting to get the download for Yapbrowser to work on the adult page, typing in numerous attempts at what I thought would be the download link resulted in me being redirected to the X-Treme Lolitas page. So, not only had someone managed to hijack your application without anybody noticing, they also managed to somehow have every one of your mis-typed urls also direct to the pornography. Again - how did nobody notice this?

The Yapbrowser site was registered in December, 2005. It's now April. That's an awful long time to miss something so serious. No end-users complained about this, either? How long has this hijack of your application been going on for?

YB: Every url direct to nonexistent page. Did you checked html code? Did you check how everything worked? On my opinion here nobody has understood in what problems is, and have started to accuse us at once.

What difference when has been registered the domain? We have found the name, have registered, and domain was empty any time. It is really problems in this? Domain yapsearch.com the second year and what in this? I speak that we worked above the project and till now we work. But it look like developing events and strong black PR our partner program is not realized :-( But it would be trust in best. And even to prove my innocence, than I am doin gnow. If I was engaged in illegal business and i would not need to be justified, would not?

5) Why is the name "John Malkovich" down as the contact for Yapcash? Seems awfully funny that Petr Rian is down for all the other domains, but the one that sorts out the money-making deals has the world's craziest actor as the domain contact.

YB: There are pseudonyms. On the Internet everyone use pseudonyms. It does not connected with business and it is not very important at all. It is not very good when in news your names will pour down with dirt. The registrar of domains allows to use pseudonyms.

6) On the subject of being John Malkovich, (and with a big chunk of text lifted from Andrew Clover), the same details are used for a group of sites at Eltel, a Russian ISP, including one site that redirects the user to browser exploits at paradise-dialer.com, which load trojans, spyware and dialers. Paradise-dialer's whois places it as part of the CWS group known as Dimpy, aka BigBuks. Since the BigBuks whois is also given by mix-click, referred to by the yapbrowser/yapsearch whois, and the aforementioned servers at Pilosoft and Eltel (as well as the paradise-dialer server also at Pilosoft just a few IP addresses away) run many other sites that link back to browser exploits and child porn promotions run by BigBuks, it seems reasonable to assume that they are the same group of people.

So, is this you or not? And if not, how come the contact details are the same?

YB: We now try to find people which are involved in an illegal site. They had some attitude to domain names, but not to our activity. Similar these people are engaged in distribution illegal content and in parallel contain a server for this purpose. We have chosen a unsuccessful place of accommodation of the projects in a network.


Labels: ,

All Content © Vitalsecurity.org 2006. The content of this site is entirely the opinion of Paperghost, and is in no way endorsed by FaceTime Communications. In other words - have a problem, come see me.